Oh Alaia

After another great night with my Alaia heels on, I’ve decided to dedicate a song to Mr Alaia. Now before you go on rolling your eyes and calling me crazy. I’d like to prove my sanity and tell y’all the story behind these gorgeous heels.

It all started last December on a bright & lovely day in Dubai. I was exercising my basic need to shop when i came across a pair of building-high, nay, skyscraper-high, pair of cut out suede heels. -Oh Alaia, the things you do to me- I carefully took it off the rack and checked its size: 37.¬† Darn. But fret not my lovely readers, this story has a happy ending, there were another pair of 39s! That’s when I spotted a pair of Balenciaga heels that looked like this:
how could i say no? but there was no way my mother was going to let me buy both! what to do, what to do.

I started the usual “Ill pay for it” debate that usually ends with her cutting me off about how rude it is of me that i would say such a thing and how i shouldn’t be spending 10 thousand pounds on a pair of shoes but i digress. There they were, just waiting for me to try them on. Just waiting for me to take them home and show them a good time.
I was torn.
I tried them on, they were perfect. High as they were, they were the most comfortable heels i had ever worn. I was buying them, no matter what it took. So out came the credit card, ahh my credit card, so many stories there, but I’ll leave that for another post. To my mother’s dismay i walked out of the store with the biggest smile on my face. It was like going to an orphanage and adopting a baby, heck if you think about it, shopping is a lot like adopting a baby but i digress, the fight with my mother alone should have been an enough of an indicator that those heels were special, but little did i know what plans Mr Alaia had for me.
To make a long story short, ever since that day, every time I’ve worn those babies I’ve had an amazing time. I’d point out examples but i don’t kiss and tell, so without further ado, Mr. Alaia, i love you. Marry me? or more like, design my wedding dress? Heck, even if i don’t get married I’ll throw a faux wedding just to wear the dress and everyone would just dance along to this song i wrote:

ALAIA, ALAIA

YOU NEED TO STOP HIDING

FANS WANT TO SEE YOUR FACE

FANS WANT TO HEAR YOUR STORY

ALAIA ALAIA

YOUR FITTED DRESSES ARE PERFECT

IF MY HOUSE WAS ON FIRE

I’D TAKE NOTHING BUT..

MY ALAIA HEELS.

Here are a few interesting interviews for those of you interested in reading more about Azzedine Alaia:

1, 2 & 3

2 thoughts on “Oh Alaia

  1. Hahahaha! I came across this post while trying to research Alaia’s sizing since i recently bought a pair of boots online.

    That “song” is the most amazing thing I have heard, pretty much EVER.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers

